Katy's "Snobservations" del 1

What is the point in having sidewalks if you are allowed to drive on them?

 

Perhaps I am being egocentric or maybe it is just a case of being accustomed to what I know, but where I come from (Calgary, Canada) sidewalks are for pedestrians.  Drivers are amply provided with a plethora of streets and roads, of which they can drive around on as they like. Thus, the sidewalk is the rightful domain for those who prefer shoes, over wheels, as their mode of transportation.

 

But, I have come to realize that this is not the case here in Montpellier. As a pedestrian it is imperative that you constantly be on guard.  Not only must you avoid being trampled by the locals, who have perfected the art of walking with invisible blinders on. But, you must be able to quickly side step any vehicle (yes that is right, I said vehicle) that may be barreling towards you ready to take you down.

 

Today for example, I was walking home on a sidewalk that runs along a fairly busy street outside of the old city. I heard honking, so I looked around and realized that there was a very large van directly behind me.  The driver clearly felt that I was in the wrong, so I had to press against the wall, allowing him to pass.  I than watched him drive off down the sidewalk, through a restaurant terrace and back onto the street. WTF?

 

That is all from Katy Bond –the crazy canuck ;)

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0